Da Bears!


I am a Chicago Bears fan.  I wish I wasn’t but I am.  It’s how I was raised.

Being a Bears fan is like being in an abusive relationship.  They keep hurting me and hurting me, and yet I can’t bring myself to leave them.  Yes, I suffer from Battered Wife Syndrome.

By any reasonable measure, the Bears should have a cakewalk this weekend.  Facing the only team to ever make the playoffs with a losing record?  But I’ve had a sick feeling in my stomach since about Wednesday.  I’m absolutely terrified, because I’ve seen them shit the bed before.  ’05 against the Panthers and ’01 against the Eagles come to mind just as recent examples.

So tomorrow I’ll be locked in my apartment, phone off, sweating through another big game.  Waiting for my beloved Bears to break my heart and my spirit yet again.

Here’s hoping this is the year it all changes…

2 Comments

  1. Instead they are going to lead you on like the pretty girl that flirts with you all night while you buy her drinks, goes to the bathroom at last call never to be seen from again. Right before the big game they will shit down their leg and leave you empty again – buy hey there’s always next year

    • Harsh words from someone who’s first, second and third teams didn’t even make the playoffs. I will tolerate no smack talk on behalf of your 4th favorite team!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment