Rest In Peace, Chief


4 years ago today my alma mater caved to the political pressure of the NCAA and radical students and killed the greatest symbol in all of sports, Chief Illiniwek.

I grew up on Illinois sports.  Some of my earliest memories are of going to Illini football games at Memorial Stadium and basketball games at the Assembly Hall with my family.  I’ve been to bowl games and Final Fours.  I’ve roadtripped damn near all over the country.  I bled orange and blue.

Then in the blink of an eye He was gone.  An 80-year tradition wiped out just like that.  I cried like a baby at His last performance.  And then I walked out of the Assembly Hall and never looked back.

Rest in Peace, Chief.

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

